photo (6)

A guest blogger this week on his experience in AA:

“You are not alone. Those words were carved into a piece of wood hanging on the wall at the very first AA meeting I attended.  I can’t think of a better way to describe my experience with 12 step programs.

I spent my life surrounded by my closest friends yet always felt alone. Finally alcohol removed even my friends and I discovered what real loneliness was.  Seeing those words on the wall comforted me and kept me in AA long enough to realize I could have a life beyond my wildest dreams. Then the steps and fellowship of Alcoholics Anonymous took over (with a healthy dose of my own willingness).

Anyone out there that can identify with feeling alone in a crowded room, feeling desperately that you want to stop drinking (or any destructive behavior), I encourage you to seek out the fellowship and recovery that I found in AA or whatever 12 step program applies to you.  We have a saying that sums it up nicely. “Give us 90 days and if your life doesn’t get better, we will gladly refund your misery.”  It worked for me, and like the sign said: You Are Not Alone.”

Photo credit: Pinterest

Amanda Patterson, LMHC, CAP decided to become a therapist while attending Nova Southeastern University. She saw the need to help people achieve the life they wanted to live, while creating a life of her own. She completed her master’s in Mental Health Counseling and started a career in the juvenile justice arena. Since then, she has started a private practice in Pembroke Pines Florida, specializing in depression, anxiety relationship issues, and substance abuse. Amanda is a believer in holistic treatment and she practices veganism, meditation and yoga in her life. Find out more about her practice here. For a free 15-minute consultation, call or text Amanda at 954-258-8845 or email her at amanda@amandapattersonlmhc.com.